U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Urban Planning
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-08-2014, 06:22 AM

1 posts, read 680 times

Advertisements

Hello. As read above, I am a prospective Urban Planner and I would like to go to school for this. I am a sophomore in high school, and I go to a trade highschool where I am in an engineering program and I found that Civil Engineering really fascinates me. However, as I did more and more research into the subfields of Civil Engineering, I found Urban Planning and I was very intrigued. Ever since I was younger, I have been interested in bug cities and how everything works. Being from a suburb of a big city, when I got to go into the big cities, I always found why the engineers did what they did. So as I ak still young enough to make my decision for a career, I would appreciate if an Urban Planner could answer my following questions:

1. What are some good colleges in New Jersey for Civil Engineering and Urban Planning? My plan is to do Civil Engineering for my undergraduate and get my Master's, and go to a different college to do my graduates work and graduate with my Bachelors of Science in Urban Planning.

2. Where are some potential jobs that an urban planner can get when a student graduates college?

3. What are the pros and the cons about being an Urban Planner?

4. What are most of the days on the job like? Are you in an office? Out in the field? Doing reports? Making up drawings?

5. What is the initial salary and the salary after experience?

6. What are the subfields of Urban Planning?