U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-02-2018, 01:54 AM

2 posts, read 1,189 times

Advertisements

Hi yall,

Im wondering if anyone here is living off grid/semi off grid in the southern Utah area. I also have many questions about zoning and laws as I am a total newbie on any of this.
My husband and I are looking for an area where we can purchase land and live in our trailer until we are ready to develop and build. From what I can tell, this is not possible in Washington County. Does anyone know if tiny house/shed converted into tiny house living is possible? If we have a concrete foundation set, is off grid living allowed?

We would prefer Washington County, specifically Virgin area, but if thats not possible we like Beryl and the surrounding area. From what I can tell, trailer living is permitted in Iron a county, with no time frame for building. From previous threads in 07 and 08 there was lots of talk of water rights. What is it like out there now? My mother in law says she does have water rights, can we purchase those from her to transfer to any property we buy sans water rights?

Id really love to hear from anyone who has done something similar. I saw many threads from people ten years ago but didnt see many recent discussions on this.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-17-2019, 06:27 AM

3 posts, read 768 times
I bought land in Beryl about two years ago and began setting up my off grid homestead.
Land is cheap, infrastructure is not.