U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Vancouver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 10:06 AM

2 posts, read 1,961 times
Default want to move

My wife and I are thinking of moving to Vancouver and would appreciate any advice. We have a 5 year old and expecting our second child. We are considering this as the cost of living is raising and the quality of life is dropping. We did some research before making this post and found that we can move with qualifying skills, I am a general laborer (currently I'm a machinist, but have experience in demolition, roofing, and painting), and she is a medical assistant. According to the Canadian Consulate website, these are not qualifying trades so we're not sure what our best option would be. Since the baby is due on Dec 2010, my wife would not be able to travel till mid 2011, would it be advisable for me to go ahead to get settle in? Our oldest is a canadian citizen (long story) can this help and how? And are there any government programs that would help us with the transition?

Last edited by DCmove; 05-29-2010 at 10:58 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-29-2010, 09:21 PM

4,285 posts, read 9,737,423 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCmove View Post