U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-01-2011, 01:58 PM

6 posts, read 13,173 times

Advertisements

I am a single young professional guy in my mid-20's considering taking a position in the Burlington area. I have spent most of my life in Alabama and never thought much about living in Vermont. Being from the South, I know that people's stereotypes from other regions of the country are not always true - but nonetheless the idea of moving to Vermont would probably be a big change for me.

So, could I fit in well in Vermont and the Burlington area? Would I be able to make friends, become active in the community, and find my niche? To give you an idea of where I am coming from, I am kind-of your "typical" conservative suburban guy: I am very patriotic, go to church on Sunday (Catholic), in to things like watching sports, hunting/fishing, mainstream rock and country music, etc. I have pretty traditional values on issues like life and marriage, I don't care if my food is organic, I like to get involved in Republican politics, and I shop at places like Walmart and Barnes & Noble. However, I am not a "Bible-thumper" and strive to treat everyone with respect.

I just don't want to feel like a total outcast where I live. Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by kev26; 08-01-2011 at 02:07 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-01-2011, 03:15 PM

353 posts, read 856,544 times