U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-08-2006, 07:51 AM

38 posts, read 107,078 times

Advertisements

I'm new to this forum. I'll be moving up to East Thetford soon, and hope to get a job at either Dartmouth or DHMC. I have always wanted to sample living in the Upper Valley. I had been looking for rentals in NH towns only (ludicrously high rents) until someone told me that I should include VT towns in my search as the rents are more affordable. I did, for the most part, find this to be true - though I'll be paying income tax. I'm a NH resident, and when I tell people I'm going to be living across the river in VT, they say, get ready to pay tax on everything. This seems to be the view of VT from the NH side, taxes...and that people are generally liberal, environmentally conscious, "granola" types (just what I've heard, put in many other colorful terms).