U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-01-2006, 06:16 PM

3 posts, read 9,251 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I'm a college student in Kansas City, Missouri (Univ. of MO at Kansas City), and I'm thinking about transferring to Champlain College for fall 2007.

I've been thinking about Champlain and Burlington in general for the following reasons:
(1) Kansas City is HUGE; both in people (2 million people) and in land (~8,000 sq. mi.). For a student, KC is almost prohibitively expansive. I'm looking for a smaller environment, and I think Burlington may be a bit more manageable for me.

(2) UMKC, my current school, is a major research university with over 14,000 students. Their main focuses are medicine and business. As a Criminal Justice/Anthropology major, it's very easy for me to get lost in the hard sciences that are so emphasized at my school. I'm looking for a smaller, more liberal-arts/humanities-oriented school where I can involve myself better with the community.

I wanted to live in New England for a long time. I went to New Hampshire and Maine a while ago and I loved every minute of it, but I'd like to know what Champlain students or Burlingtonians have to say. Thanks a million.

Justin
Kansas City, MO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-03-2006, 08:19 AM

3,328 posts, read 8,764,751 times