U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-03-2006, 09:14 AM

1,436 posts, read 4,607,258 times

Advertisements

I have read a lot of posts which say it is hard to make a living in Vermont. I have read that salaries are low, that the cost of living is high, and that people often have to work several jobs to make ends meet.

I am a New York City social worker, so I already know about inadequate wages and high living costs. I'm sure salaries are lower in Vermont. I do not plan to be dependent on a social worker's salary.

Apart from private professional practice, which I plan to do, what kinds of jobs do people take to supplement their income? What about home-based businesses? What kinds of businesses have a chance to be successful in that area? I know these are hard questions to answer, because of their generality, but I would appreciate any responses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-13-2006, 12:18 PM

2,551 posts, read 5,297,762 times
When I lived in Vermont I did OK on just my salary with no supplement necessary. The cost of living is somewhat high, but I am originally from Connecticut so it didn't even make me flinch. If you are coming from NY, you'll be in the same boat. When I lived in VT I worked out of Burlington then Brattleboro, so I wasn't stuck in a really rural area with limited opportunities.

Old 11-14-2006, 03:18 AM

Thanks for your reply.