Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: has anyone heard of weeks school rumors?
yes 5 55.56%
no 4 44.44%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 11-16-2008, 07:54 AM

2 posts, read 16,650 times

Advertisements

I am looking for any information avaible on what used to be the Weeks School [formerly an orphanage and juvenile delinquent home until the late 1970's.] I was a resident Of Northlands Job Corp in Vergennes back in 1991 and there were a lot of rumors about what was formerly the weeks schools. Rumors of abuse and unnatural deaths. I can't find any information on the school either way. That makes me think that some of the rumors may be true and a small town is trying to cover up a terrible history. Does anyone have a information either way? Perhaps there is an article or a site somewhere taht can help me.

Old 11-16-2008, 10:35 AM

23,585 posts, read 70,350,712 times
Nothing odd that I'm aware of. I worked at Waterbury, and the brother of a friend married a girl that had been there. More likely the rumors were used as boogieman stories to keep kids from acting out. - "If you don't behave, I'm going to send you to Weeks!"

That said, whenever you get that large a group of people together, and have to impose some sense of order and discipline, there are bound to be isolated events.

Old 11-17-2008, 07:14 AM

2 posts, read 16,650 times