U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-04-2009, 01:28 PM

163 posts, read 152,672 times

Advertisements

OK,
I note that most questions here are about I'm moving hither and yon and want to know this or that.

My question is:

We just read a story about sugar bush and maple trees in reading. (I'm an elementary teacher)

The children want to know about how much sap you get from a tree and how many gallons of sap it takes to make a gallon of syrup.

Also, how long would it take for that to boil down?

I hopw someone can answer our questions over the weekend so we'll have the answers on Monday.

THANKS!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-04-2009, 01:35 PM

231 posts, read 783,634 times
I am sure you'll get lots of answers...

the amount of sap depends on the weather. You need cold nights and warm days to make the "sap run". Which is usually just a steady drip.

It takes about 40 gallons of sap to make a gallon of syrup. Since sap is made mostly water, this creates a lot of steam when it is boiled. The sap looks like water when dripping out and will brown as it cools.

Old 12-04-2009, 01:42 PM

Is the sap sweet coming from the tree? or does it have a "different" taste?

Old 12-04-2009, 01:46 PM

894 posts, read 1,286,595 times
tastes like maple syrup watered down about 40:1

Old 12-04-2009, 02:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by plowman View Post
Is the sap sweet coming from the tree? or does it have a "different" taste?
Tastes like sugar water.

Old 12-05-2009, 09:02 AM

17,847 posts, read 54,109,596 times