U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-28-2010, 03:55 AM

1,978 posts, read 3,205,223 times

Advertisements

So, I'm 21, and I'm about to finish college soon in Asheville, NC, and I have been dying to move to Vermont for many years, probably since I was 15 (not that many years, but it's 1/4 of my life, so that's a good while). I used to live in Worcester during high school, and I would take every opportunity I could get to make my way up to VT. It became a bit of an obsession honestly. I have never been to such a wonderful place, and the place I live in now is pretty darn wonderful. Anyways, as seems to be the case with many folks around here, I need some advice from people who know VT.

I'm looking to graduate with a bachelor's in Psychology, and I am most likely going to attend graduate school. But anyway, I hear so much doom and gloom about how VT is terrible for jobs, and it's impossible to survive, and all that business. How bad is it really? I am completely willing to live in a cheap place for a while and work my way up. To me, it is worth having an apartment instead of a house to live in a place that makes me happy.

So, I love the cold and snow and ice and just generally arctic conditions in New England very much. I understand the general mentality of the area fairly well for a non-resident, I feel like. I know that it is best to assimilate and not go against the grain, and I have no problem with that.