U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-20-2013, 11:31 AM

11 posts, read 13,190 times

Advertisements

My wife and I are in our early 30’s. I’m a police officer and she is a nurse. We have one child (toddler), and hope to add a second child soon. We currently live in the Phoenix area, and while we agree there is a lot to like, ten years in the desert has us seeking a move to a more refreshing, greener, cooler locale.

We are considering the following areas: San Diego, San Antonio/Austin, Denver, St. Louis, Virginia. We are both originally from southern California so we are very familiar with all of the pros and cons of there. But we are seeking advice from others in the other places mentioned.

That being said, here’s what we’re looking for…

1. We’d like to be in close proximity to a major city that has some things to do. We love sports; specifically Baseball, Football and Hockey…so places like Denver and St. Louis have things that some others don’t. But Museums, Zoos, and other attractions are equally important, especially those that are great for families and kids.

2. This might be a bit of a kicker…we’d like a little property. We want to be 30 minutes to 1 hour from the aforementioned amenities, but we’d still like to be out just-a-ways so we can have a piece of property with 2+ acres. That’s not something you see everywhere when you’re talking suburbs of major metro areas. But at the same time we don’t want to be very rural…it would be nice to have decent options to go out to eat or take our kids to a swim class and other daily activities.