U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-02-2007, 05:07 PM

1 posts, read 7,778 times
Default Smith Mountain Lake Area

Hello all,

My wife and I were just on vacation and were looking for areas to relocate to and visited the Smith Mountain Lake area and we really liked what we saw. Here's our situation: I'm a NYC firefighter who can retire in 3 1/2 years and my wife is an occupational therapist. Our children are 11 and 10, so if we were to move when I retire ( at least from the FDNY), my children would be starting high school. We presently live on the North Fork of Long Island which is somewhat rural. Our school district is good and we want to move to an area with good schools. What town/towns around the lake have the best school district. We spoke to a realtor and he indicated we should look in Franklin county. We've looked at the school report cards but they don't always give a true picture of how good a school really is. Any information would be much appreciated. Have a great day. John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-02-2007, 07:29 PM

1,341 posts, read 4,230,193 times