Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-02-2007, 06:02 PM

3 posts, read 14,651 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I'm trying to get any information/opinions on Winchester. I am a teacher and part time photographer moving to (most likely) Winchester due to my husband's job. His corporate office is in Winchester. To put it lightly I am freaked. I have only lived in California and my family and friends are in CA. I'm willing to try and relocate due to him traveling 4 days a week. We have 2 kids (7 year old boy and 4 year old girl) and we are getting tired of him not being home.
There are so many things I'm trying to figure out. How are the schools there? I've gone on the website but it's hard to know what school my children would go to. My husband has brought fliers back from Raven's Point subdivision if anyone knows where that is? I'm interested in a preschool for my daughter too. Do they have parent co-op preschools there?
We are a younger couple (37 & 43) and I am looking for a neighborhood that would have families our age. Our family is into sports. My son plays soccer and baseball. My daughter does ballet. My husband and I play softball weekly. It is going to be difficult for me to move without knowing anyone, plus not having a job etc... I've never had to do it so I'm worried.
I think I've found the city's website which has helped but I'd love to hear from the locals.

Please respond.

Thanks for any help,
Shauna
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-03-2007, 09:15 PM