U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland
 [Register]
Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland Calvert County, Charles County, Montgomery County, and Prince George's County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-23-2008, 10:10 AM

1,340 posts, read 3,687,983 times

Advertisements

I posted this in the DC forum, but had no response so I though this might be better.

Here's my background:

I currently live in Milwaukee, WI. I'm a firefighter looking to move somewhere else. I hate the cold weather here. I actually want more of an urban place as well. My first choice is actually Los Angeles. I'm currently going through backgrounds with LAFD, but I still may not get the job. If I don't I will be moving to the DC area for some school and experience with a busy fire dept.

I'm looking at moving to Prince George's County. I'm not sure where yet, but possibly Hyattsville, Chillum, or Kentland areas. I would be moving into a fire house. They are mainly volunteer(however busier than almost every career fire dept in the country) and have areas for students to live in. I would be going to college at UMUC for my BS in Fire Administration or to Paramedic School ad Prince George's County CC. I wouldn't be moving until January because I want to finish my Associate's degree and graduate in Dec. I will be 21 at the time and would probably be in DC a lot.

How is the weather in DC year-round? Is there a lot or snow or rain? A lot of sunny days? Warmer or colder?