U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland
 [Register]
Washington, DC suburbs in Maryland Calvert County, Charles County, Montgomery County, and Prince George's County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-21-2008, 01:08 PM

2 posts, read 5,123 times
Default Annapolis or Olney

My husband recently took a job in Beltsville, MD. We have two daughters, 11 and 6, and are looking to moving down to MD in the summer. We are both 32 and currently live in State College,PA. We have looked at several areas and homes.I am a mosaic artist and currently own a gallery downtown in Pa. I am looking to move my business to a home studio, but would like to move to an area that had a community of artist, supportive of local artist or was more artsy/hip than not. We have narrowed it down to two, Olney and Annapolis. Based on the following info, what would work best:

Good schools
safe area
fun, hip and things to do
locally owned stores
good restaurants
homes with some land (.5 or more acres)
diverse but not urban.... we don't want to hear trains, sirens or anything
We love to garden/farm and would like an area with enough land to do so
young families
access to night life

thanks for all replies!
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2008, 05:09 PM

106 posts, read 341,206 times
Olney was just voted one of the top 100 cities to live in in the USA for 2008! It's the ONLY Maryland city on the list.

Old 05-22-2008, 10:48 PM

598 posts, read 1,300,981 times