Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 08:59 PM

4 posts, read 7,117 times

Advertisements

Hey,

I just moved to a house in SW DC close to the Waterfront--it's on G Street between 3rd and 4th Street. The area has seemed safe so far and I like it but I haven't had any reason to be out on the street after 8 or 8:30 PM. As I'm new to DC, I'm planning on going out alone (not drinking but going to an event or two) on some weekend nights and taking the metro (blue or orange line) back at 10 PM latest. My place is a 10-minute walk from the Waterfront and L'Enfant Plaza stations. I'm a woman, 22 and physically small. Do you think that I should spring for a taxi if I end up having to go home after 9 or 10 or is the 10-minute walk safe enough for me to not have to be too worried?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-08-2012, 10:20 PM

566 posts, read 1,557,208 times
I live in the area. I think the streets are safe, but the blocks near L'Enfant Plaza will be eerily desolate at that hour. Not unsafe per se, but there won't be anyone else walking around at that time. Personally, I feel more comfortable when there are other people around late at night. Cab is probably the easiest option and would give you peace of mind.

Old 08-09-2012, 09:38 AM

220 posts, read 548,171 times