U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-12-2008, 04:17 PM

13 posts, read 26,292 times
Talking Job Market in DC

Hi all. I am from Michigan, and the job market here is DEAD. I graduated last summer from Wayne State (the university here in Detroit) with a Bachelors of Science in Information Systems. I worked contract at Ford for 5 years as a CAD Designer. I got laid off from there a few years ago. That led me to get my Bachelors Degree. The automotive industry is dead; I donít want any part of it anymore.

Iím thinking of moving to the DC area. I have some friends there. What is the job market like there? Iím looking to get into something in the IT field or Logistics, because I did work at UPS before I was at Ford. I donít have any real IT experience except for classroom experience. What are the chances for a person with my degree to find something there? I would appreciate your input. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-12-2008, 07:45 PM

1,048 posts, read 2,404,795 times