U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-19-2010, 11:21 PM

7 posts, read 7,833 times

Advertisements

Hey all,

I found out about a week ago that my girlfriend might be getting a job in DC or Boston; with the likelyhood being DC.

We're both 24, a mixed race couple (White/Chinese), and can afford $1250 a month (utilities separate) on a combined $64k salary (student loans are KILLING both of us :/). I'm a web designer and she's a field associate for an public interest group.

We've lived in Philly for the past year (Girard Estates) and it's the only city I've ever lived in. She's lived in a bunch more than me.

We're looking for a hip, safe neighborhood where we can get a 1-2 BD apartment with around 800-1000 square feet. We're also looking to get a dog, so somewhere near a park would be great as well. Obviously an accepting neighborhood to our aforementioned relationship is a must (some places in Philly will get you hassled more than others).

We're both not really drinkers, so a bar scene doesn't need to happen, but we would like to live near a farmer's market to get fresh fruit/veg/meats.

I would like to state that I know NOTHING about DC. I've never been there in my life. Here's a few things I've heard and it would be great if I could get a confirm/deny on them:

1) DC is extremely dangerous (GF tells me that Philly is worse; I'm skeptical)