Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-10-2014, 08:14 AM

8 posts, read 16,027 times

Advertisements

Hi all -
I'm a Trader Joe's employee with several family members in the Seattle area - three in Redmond and one attending UPS. I'm sick of the Midwest winters and have decided to sell my house and give Washington a 12-month trial run while my youngest finishes college. I find the size of Seattle somewhat intimidating, not to mention expensive, so have settled on the Olympia area as a place to put down (shallow) roots while I decide whether I can tolerate 9 months of gloomy weather as opposed to 5 months of cold & snow!

I am super-excited to move. I am a pretty avid cyclist and would love to find a place close enough to W. Olympia that I could bike to work if that's possible (and if I get the coveted TJ's Olympia job I'm hoping for). Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated. Bike-friendliness of Olympia area; could I possibly commute from Lacey, which also looks nice; good restaurants, coffee shops, etc.,; other outdoor activities within reasonable driving distance from Olympia; etc. etc. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-10-2014, 09:25 AM

1,024 posts, read 4,137,763 times
Cyclecat,