U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-14-2009, 08:58 AM

309 posts, read 674,602 times

Advertisements

How is mushroom hunting in W. Washington? What are some of the better places for it? I love Morels but don't know if they grow there. In the spring and fall here in Missouri you can find Morels regularly if you know where to look. Also are there any truffles? What other sorts of mushrooms are there in the area? (I'm relatively new to it)

Legal mushrooms though, I'm not into eating something and getting high from it. My wife and I are very fond of mushrooms (portabellas, yum!) I'm sure in some of the markets there they have some good finds, but hunting them is part of the fun, right?

Anybody else into this pastime?
Quick reply to this message

Old 04-14-2009, 10:33 AM

8,342 posts, read 14,910,518 times
I know that morels and chantrelles grow in these parts, but all I've seen growing are oyster mushrooms, and I'm not about to give away my secret spot. but they're not rare at all.

Old 04-14-2009, 10:57 AM

309 posts, read 674,602 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ira500 View Post
I know that morels and chantrelles grow in these parts, but all I've seen growing are oyster mushrooms, and I'm not about to give away my secret spot. but they're not rare at all.
Oh, I've seen these, or look a likes, around here too, but didn't know they were edible.