U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-10-2012, 02:36 PM

1 posts, read 1,092 times

Advertisements

I graduated from college about a year ago and am trying to avoid getting any sort of government related job (for political reasons) which negates most decent paying white collar jobs in the MD/WV area.

I grew up and presently live in Cumberland, MD, going to college it was really made clear that compared to down state Maryland, Cumberland is a different world (its one of the poorest, least educated parts of the US and very isolated) and doesn't really have many job opportunities. I like Cumberland a lot but living outside the area for 4 years really highlighted a lot of the problems so I would like to move out of the area for a little while at least.

I have an opportunity for work in Armonk, NY which pays a lot more than anything around here but I am concerned about the cost of living, Armonk is rated at 164.5 while Cumberland is rated at 85.8. Would a salary in the 50s be enough to live comfortable (presently I work part time and make 18k and am living fine but I feel like I could probably make more as I have a college degree). Also, are their things to do as I am 23 so I would prefer not to live in boring suburbs which much of Westchester sounds like.

Also, would it be to much of a culture shock? I've visited Pittsburgh, DC and Baltimore and all these cities seem like nicer and less run down bigger versions of Cumberland.