U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 10-18-2007, 10:44 AM

2,011 posts, read 3,106,902 times
Question What does "Union Free" School District mean?

Hi there!

I am a NE OH resident; have lived here 35+ years; barring a several year stay in S. CA. I am looking into a town called Tuckahoe (NY). I looked at the school website; it says: "Tuckahoe Union Free School District" - what does this mean?

Also, are most of the jobs located in NYC via a commute rather than Tuckahoe itself?

We are in our mid 40's, have a larger family. What are the job opportunities for teaching? We have a 23 year-old son that will be graduating college next year; high school science (biology/chemistry) is his major.

Any information about lifestyle, cost of housing, etc., is very much appreciated. Thank you kindly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-18-2007, 12:04 PM

1,616 posts, read 2,342,435 times
I'm not sure what Union Free means, but it has nothing do with unions. The Tuckahoe School District, like every school district in Westchester County has a union. The term is probably an anachronism from the 19th century; it has no relevance today.