U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-25-2007, 12:55 PM

2 posts, read 30,411 times

Advertisements

Hi.

I am moving from California to Mount Vernon, NY in a couple days to do hospital rotations there since I am a medical student.

Can someone give me suggestions on safe/nice places to live that are within a 10-15 miles radius of Mount Vernon?

Is Mount Vernon a safe city to live in itself?

Preferably looking for a place that is near a shopping mall or lots of fast food or something since I am always on-the-go for food and conveniences.

Thanks so much for your help!

You can e-mail me also at ohhitsamit@aol.com.

Thanks again and take care.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-25-2007, 03:49 PM

2,806 posts, read 15,201,481 times
How long will you be in Mount Vernon? A full year or just a couple of months? I'm guessing that you will be renting.

Mount Vernon is a weird town. The southern part of Mount Vernon by Wakefield section fo the Bronx can be pretty ghetto (thugs, drug dealers, prostitutes). The northern part of Mount Vernon by Bronxville along Grandmattan ave seems very leafy and residential.

A 10-15 mile radius is huge in terms of Westchester. I think you need to narrow down your search a bit.

Are you originally from the NYC area? Westchester is suburban, but its a little bit different from most suburbs. Commuting in Westchester, especially during rush hour can be tedious.