U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-08-2015, 08:40 AM

13 posts, read 13,889 times

Advertisements

My husband and I will be moving into the county in May 2016. I will be working in NYC. I work in construction so I would be working all over NYC and the outlying boroughs. I need a decent commute, hoping for something under and hour. I am having a hard time deciding what towns would be a good fit for our family of 5. My husband is a carpenter and would either work for a private company or the Union. Together we would make around 120-140K a year. I was looking at White Plains, Greensburgh, and Mamaroneck.

I would need child care for my kids, I come from a small town of 6600 people and would love to have the small town feel, but I also don't mind living in more suburban areas. Another question I have is how do I find out what school my kids would go to? I obviously want good schools, but I know these larger towns have many school districts and I can tell how i would know what school they would go to depending on what neighborhood we choose.

Any help and comments about towns would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-08-2015, 09:44 AM

678 posts, read 665,096 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittney.therrien View Post