U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Westchester County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-01-2015, 09:31 AM

3 posts, read 4,142 times

Advertisements

My wife got a research job at IBM Watson Research Center and she really wants to take that job. I work in the software field and I can find a job in and around NYC area. Assuming I can find a job in Manhattan, I am trying to figure out which is the best town midway Manhattan and Yorktown Heights to live so that commute doesn't suck big time for either of us. I understand the MTA Metro-North would be the best way to commute to Manhattan and my wife will drive to IBM.

Any suggestions on which towns should I consider between NYC and Yorktown Heights? Here are factors I am looking for in order of priority -
1. Commute time
2. Safety
3. Social events/entertainment

We currently live in Austin, TX
Quick reply to this message

Old 12-01-2015, 09:39 AM

678 posts, read 664,505 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by shetir View Post
My wife got a research job at IBM Watson Research Center and she really wants to take that job. I work in the software field and I can find a job in and around NYC area. Assuming I can find a job in Manhattan, I am trying to figure out which is the best town midway Manhattan and Yorktown Heights to live so that commute doesn't suck big time for either of us. I understand the MTA Metro-North would be the best way to commute to Manhattan and my wife will drive to IBM.

Any suggestions on which towns should I consider between NYC and Yorktown Heights? Here are factors I am looking for in order of priority -
1. Commute time