Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Western North Carolina
 [Register]
Western North Carolina The Mountain Region including Asheville
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 10:05 AM

12,039 posts, read 6,570,692 times

Advertisements

Hello,

We are considering retiring to WNC, but recently I was told there is Lyme disease in the ticks there. One of the reasons we moved from CT to the Southwest is because of the horrible Lyme disease problems. I am a landscape painter and an avid gardener and outdoor person, and I watched MANY people's lives just devastated from this disease in CT. Of course I lived where Lyme disease is most prevalent, but I have now heard from someone in the Boone area that they know 4 people who have gotten Lyme disease there.

Is it considered a problem only in the higher elevations, and do the doctors know how to treat it aggressively in WNC?

Anyone had any experience with it in WMC?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2011, 11:26 AM

172 posts, read 477,510 times
Iv only found 1 tick on myself in the last 10 years....

And Ticks are not found as commonly above 4000ft to 4500ft in elevation.....

Old 05-23-2011, 11:30 AM

6,793 posts, read 5,662,429 times
That's good to hear about ticks and 4k ft..

how do Drs these days treat Lyme disease vs just sending patience to therapy and tell them to stop faking...

Old 05-23-2011, 12:17 PM