U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Wisconsin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 02:12 PM

9 posts, read 23,994 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I have got an offer to work in CVS pharmacy in Racine, WI. Next week I have to move there. I don't know anything about this place. I appreciate all your inputs about this place. I am from INDIA (ASIA). I am moving from Columbia, MO. I studied my master's in MO. I need some information about safety, rentals etc. Please help.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-11-2006, 05:23 PM

2,745 posts, read 5,744,348 times
I think Racine is an old industrial town that is struggling to reinvent itself. In general, it is sort of viewed of as the sore thumb of Wisconsin. There is a lot of crime for a city its size and not much going on for it. The pros are it is diverse and near Milwaukee and Chicago. Rentals are not that great and somewhat expensive for what it is. Overall, drive around and you will be able to avoid the bad areas, and spot the good ones and choose where to live accordingly. Good luck.

Old 12-14-2006, 08:23 PM

4 posts, read 16,169 times
Thats a pretty good sum up of Racine, I work there and would not live there.
Only thing I disagree with you on is it being the Armpit of Wisconsin,,, That would be Beloit!!! Racine comes in second!

Old 12-17-2006, 07:49 PM