U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 07-23-2010, 08:56 AM

168 posts, read 207,283 times
Default Anyone work in academia/higher education? What are the pros/cons?

I've realized I have a very scholarly way of thinking about things and enjoy losing myself in concepts/theory. I graduated summa *** laude and have sorely missed being in an academic environment since graduating in December 2007. I've worked in the business world for a few years now and feel I don't get the same satisfaction out of it as I would working for a college/university. (I recently created a thread noting that I'm interested in leaving the start-up I work for to pursue better-paying opportunities.)

Here's what I have in mind:
1. Getting a full-time job at a two-year college/4-year university.
2. Provided they offer it, have the university reimburse me for tuition paid toward a master's degree.
3. Once I've worked there for a few years, consider looking for a faculty position within the university itself. I'd love to teach English and/or business and marketing.

Does this plan sound feasible? Would it be better to set my sights on higher education administration as opposed to teaching? Or can I possibly squeeze both into my career plan?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 07-23-2010, 09:04 AM

26,365 posts, read 48,824,101 times
What is your undergrad in?
What would you expect to earn your masters in?