U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 12-03-2010, 07:32 PM

169 posts, read 301,677 times
Default Realistic Entry Level jobs for Finance graduate

Hello,

To anybody who may know, what is a realistic entry level job for someone who has a bachelors degree in finance? Yes, that person is me. I have not graduated yet, but I will be in June. I already work full time, but I am a technician for a communications company. I want a career change and finance is something that naturally interests me. Basically, what kind of job can I get with no finance experience but a degree in it? I am a family guy who is married with one child, not a trust fund baby looking for a handout. I'm having trouble finding anything with my situation! Any advice or comments would be appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 12-03-2010, 08:41 PM

995 posts, read 704,586 times
Is the communications company a big company? I would first ask your HR department what may be available and try and apply internally with your current employer.

Unread 12-03-2010, 08:47 PM

131 posts, read 326,397 times
do you have another bachelor in IT or something working as a technician right now? a technical background is better than finance nowadays

Unread 12-03-2010, 08:51 PM

443 posts, read 631,541 times