U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 11:29 AM

77 posts, read 166,266 times

Advertisements

I am currently making low $80s in Texas and have recently got a job offer in the Bay area in the low $100s. It is about a 24% hike.

I have a Master's degree in engineering and 4 years of work experience.

Two questions:

1) Is this a fair salary for someone with my background?

2) Online salary calculators show a person making $100k in CA vs somebody making $80k in Texas will only bring home ~$600 per month more. So is maintaining the same standard of living out of the question?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-09-2010, 11:34 AM

12,395 posts, read 14,864,421 times
The average tech salary for somebody in Silicon Valley is 147K all things considered.

running calculator...

The cost of living in San Francisco, CA is 86.6% higher than in Houston, TX. Therefore, you would have to earn a salary of $149,262 to maintain your current standard of living.

Employers in San Francisco, CA typically pay 20.1% more than employers in Houston, TX. Therefore, if you take the same type of job in the same type of company in San Francisco, CA you are likely to earn $96,108.

Hope that helps. I would say it is accurate having lived in the Bay Area and looking at jobs there...

Assuming you are at 82K ... your 24% pay hike takes you to 101, 680... Seems they called it pretty accurately, you'll see about 40-50K drop in disposable income at your salary.