U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-04-2011, 09:58 PM

150 posts, read 173,678 times

Advertisements

I saw an ad on Craigslist for an entry level paralegal for a law office. I have no law experience, and while it said it would be helpful, it wasn't necessary. I was going to write my cover letter & send it tomorrow, it couldn't hurt!

I then decided to check out their website and they had another position that I also know I could handle. It also has no law experience required, as long as the applicant has a basic background of paying attention to detail, reliability, etc.

Should I send out two different cover letters for these positions, or just one cover letter highlighting my skills for each position? And, if I do send two, do I make mention that I've applied for another position?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-04-2011, 10:54 PM

999 posts, read 481,575 times
If it were me I would just pick one to focus on primarily. I think applying for two might seem desperate unless both positions 90% the same with just some slight differences (for instance applying for an entry-level copywriter position and also applying for an entry-level multicultural media copywriter position within the same company).

I could be wrong though. Maybe applying to both will show them that your really really really want to work for their company, but your cover letter better prove that. If it were me I would apply to one.

Old 02-04-2011, 11:03 PM