U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2011, 08:54 AM

6,918 posts, read 15,758,937 times

Advertisements

I only had one job where I had to travel (by air) one time. I was a Relief Salesman during one summer and flew to AZ for a week. It was ok, but missed being home in the evenings quite a bit (was married at the time). Other than that job, never wanted a "travel" type job at all......just not my thing no matter what the salary was.

My wife accepted a job backi in '08 and had to fly to Michigan three times for training (a week/half each). We were lucky 'cause I was unemployed at the time and went with her all three times. Even though it was for training, we spent three weekends visiting some of wife's relatives and drove down to Indiana to where I was raised. She wouldn't do it again though.

I know a guy in another C-D Forum who travels a lot and even stated that he doesn't know what the area really looks like where they moved to.....he's gone that much. And, he's married with a couple of small kids.

The only way I'd even consider any kind of travel at all with a company is if I was single. Again, don't care about the salary, I'm just an 8-5 (or 7-3:30) type dude who likes (no, LOVES) being home with my wife! Heck, I don't even like working weekends......period! I'm unemployed right now and headed for early retirement (SS), so won't have to think about travel working weekends anyway.