Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-23-2013, 08:30 AM

1,225 posts, read 2,420,153 times

Advertisements

I have many years of experience and have been forced to take a position in which I am overqualified. Most of my peers are much younger than I am.
The type of work environment (call center) is not something I have been accustomed to since my 20's.
I am being told what to do at all times and is frustrating. My last job I could pretty much do what I wanted. What is best way to deal with this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-23-2013, 08:32 AM

3,652 posts, read 4,704,376 times
Get out as soon as possible. If you've been in a position of autonomy, being relegated to this situation will drive you insane.

Old 08-23-2013, 09:42 AM

16,376 posts, read 22,481,067 times
I resigned for a different position.

The former micromanager boss was a nice person and was very knowledgeable and he meant well at all times. But he micromanaged everyone on the team. Even when they had everything under control and were doing a great job. He was a workaholic and wanted to direct the tiny details of what everyone did, and be involved in everything.