Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 06:10 PM

43 posts, read 358,240 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I used to work for a F100 company and left because I moved to California to be closer to my family. I am looking for a new position and I declined an interview for a position today because the salary seemed way too low.

I have a MBA in Marketing and around 5 years of experience in marketing. Am I being too greedy in this tough job market by refusing 35k per year or is this just way too low given my education and experience?

What salary range should I aim for in your opinion? I live in CA too which is a very expensive state!

Thanks for your input!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2011, 06:17 PM

217 posts, read 553,947 times
It all depends what your financial situation is. If you can hold off, I would. I'm job hunting now (I have a job though) and I've seen some pathetic ranges for what I do and no way in heck id take some of what I've seen offered. If I was broke, id be all over it though. I'm sure Cali is like NY where I'm from and that's definately considered low. All depends on your situation like I said earlier.

Old 05-23-2011, 06:17 PM

2,279 posts, read 3,971,963 times