U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 09-30-2011, 02:51 PM

2,608 posts, read 2,854,247 times

Advertisements

So I'm not sure how many people in sales are familiar with "spiffs" but I work in the IT sales industry and when I sell certain desktop or notebook products to businesses, the manufacturer provides a compensation reward for each unit I sell. Example: I sold 25 laptops that had a $15 per unit spiff on them.

I asked the manufacturer how I apply and claim for the spiffs. She directed me to my management staff. I asked my manager, he said he will "look into it". I followed up with him a week later with a "any word on this?" and he simply said "No."

Now I've asked a few coworkers about this to see what they've done in the past and I've just learned that they all told me the same thing: the VP of sales keeps the spiffs and pockets the money and doesn't give it to the rep. That this is done with most manufacturer spiffs.

When I took this job earlier this year they told me I could keep 100% of my earned spiff money as my previous employer took a 20% cut. They told this to all the reps when they hired us. So far I haven't received any spiffs now and it seems clear why. I also won a sales contest that was supposed to give me a reward in the hundreds of dollars and I won that last summer....still haven't seen the money.