Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-31-2012, 07:02 AM

4,789 posts, read 14,717,658 times

Advertisements

With a BSME, I do any Mechanical Designer, CAD, Mech Eng, or Tech Writer jobs. But I've been unemployed since August 15, 2008 [181 weeks]. I've been applying to these type of jobs mostly locally since Feb 2009 but it seems I can't get a good job in Chicago. Since Feb 2011 I've been stuck with only applying for Chicago jobs because my aunt moved to the Philippines and my mom visits the Philippines every Winter so someone has to be in the house to manage it. The only way I can do and apply for jobs in other cities are if the cities are nearby, like Rockford or Peoria. I bought a home security system but it's complicated to install but it has internet monitoring. Maybe in the future if I get desperate I might have to have my friend Noel live in my house while I'm gone. Currently, he does this in my neighbor friend's house... He lives there free and isn't stealing anything.

So now, stuck in Chicago, it's seems I can't find a good paying career job to save my life. I should go back to contracting or doing jobs around the nation, like my last 3 jobs that were in Bowling Green and Houston.