U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-26-2012, 05:26 PM

5,079 posts, read 4,705,710 times
Default How to compare W2 wages versus 1099-misc. wages?

If my W-2 wages are X dollars per hour, how would my tax rate, and everything else, change if my wages were reported using a 1099-misc.?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-26-2012, 09:22 PM

3,099 posts, read 2,200,558 times
I'm no expert on this and they change a lot of tax rules each year (thus why I have a CPA), but the following is a start to learning more about this...

"Form 1099 series is used to report various types of income other than wages, salaries, and tips (for which Form W-2 is used instead). Examples of reportable transactions are amounts paid to a non-corporate independent contractor for services (in IRS terminology, such payments are nonemployee compensation)."
From...
IRS tax forms - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Then here is more...
(Tons of links at the bottom.)
Independent contractor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Old 03-27-2012, 04:48 AM

4,932 posts, read 4,322,433 times
Are you trying to compare a W2 job against a 1099 job?

Here are some big differences

1) 1099 you pay approx double the social security taxes vs W2. This is because you pay the employer's portion and the employee's portion on 1099 versus only paying the employee portion on W2. This is an extra 7% extra in taxes out of your pocket.