Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-05-2012, 08:10 PM

991 posts, read 1,106,363 times

Advertisements

I work as a management accountant for a large corporation; I have 6 years of experience with this same company since finishing college. I completed graduate level study at the local uni while working to meet state CPA licensure requirements. Yesterday I got my score in for the fourth (and last) section of the CPA exam and I passed. I am wondering if I should start pumping out resumes? I have a couple connections through my state Society of CPAs chapter and I was thinking of finessing those. I have a standing offer from a fellow CPA who runs a firm, but I have not given him any answers on that yet.

I do like my job - the pay is good, I get 5 weeks of vacation, my employer paid for some of my schooling, and is providing me with a bonus for passing the exams. In my current position I design/program accounting modules for our accountants and accounting clerks to use in processing entries and cash disbursements. My strengths are in auditing and accounting system planning & design. I also feel that my skills are valuable enough for me to test the waters a bit in the city where I live.

I do feel loyalty to my company, and they did bear some of the costs for me to meet state requirements. There exist no contractual requirements, but I feel I would let my boss down by making an exit after they helped me through this process. I am kind of torn on this issue...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message