U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-22-2012, 11:37 AM

5 posts, read 5,223 times
Default at will part time employment ended - my decision to leave

this is my first time posting; hope i'm not asking a question that's already been answered ... i did a search, but didn't find my exact situation.

i've been working at a part time position for 6 months, reporting my earnings to edd. i've been looking for full time employment the entire time. last week i was told i'd made a mistake, was written up, and would be on probation for 30 days, with the possibility of being terminated. the mistake was unintentional (not having a caller on hold and caller heard boss complaining) ... i don't know how it happened and wrote that on the form they had me sign acknowledging my mistake.

since i wasn't happy at the job and had been talked to several times about my difficulty "multi-tasking," i asked them to just cut me loose. my supervisor said they were an at will employer and i could leave if i wanted rather than staying 2 weeks while i found something else (and they found a replacement). i told them i'd rather leave at the end of my shift that day. now, filling out my continued claim form, i'm unsure what to put in the "reason no longer working" section, not wanting to mess up my claim. i wanted to put "job ended" but that's not the whole reason.

help, please?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2012, 11:57 AM

12,057 posts, read 9,903,641 times