Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-12-2012, 01:22 PM

11 posts, read 18,083 times

Advertisements

Hi guys,

I will be graduating in 2013 with a degree in physics with an upper second class honours
Unfortunately I only realise now that my degree is practically useless in this economic climate. People with no degrees at all seem to be getting top end jobs these days. Not to mention thousands of applicants applying for a few jobs, its completely cut-throat insane and depressing at the same time. Even applying for volunteering or charity seems like a cut-throat job application! Whatever happened to the world?

I weep for the future of our generation, since we will be the ones paying for the austerities and bailouts through the rest of our working lives. It seems we have to work to live, not live to work these days...*sigh*

Any advice for what I should do once I graduate? I have been thinking about a career in defence or finance, but don't know yet. Other than that, what jobs might be suitable for me with a physics degree?

Or should I just stay in higher education and just ride out the recession?

PS: I really don't want to get into teaching or academia, unless I have no other choice...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-12-2012, 02:00 PM

497 posts, read 696,058 times
I'll throw a question back at you. What were you planning to do with a physics degree? I am sure you considered what career you would have once you graduated - correct?