Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-06-2013, 01:04 PM

5,281 posts, read 6,588,923 times

Advertisements

I am an engineer in the tech field. I'm also a contractor and move from company to company pretty often. As a result I've had several different types of bosses. My worst bosses in my opinion have been females though. Why? I'll tell you.

I've found that female bosses are more about trying to stay on friendly and cordial terms with their peers. As a result, I've found their easily manipulated by other managers and senior management. They are more reactive in management, and as a result their management style trickles down to their employees. Two of my worst jobs have been when I have had female bosses. In both cases, the female bosses were very compotent, but way to much into micro managing, and they become too forceful on their direct reports when they get tension from other managers. In my industry we often have to coordinate with other divisions since a lot of times we either rely on other systems owned by other teams. There are a lot of situations where a system is at fault for massive outage, and I've noticed in almost all cases the female bosses at the blame, even when it wasn't their fault. They would always try to pass down top heavy procedures as well, and they were too CYA. I think with female bosses your ability to be CYA almost outweighed your ability to peform. Even some of the CYA stuff became ridiculous at points.