U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-16-2013, 02:36 PM

4 posts, read 17,446 times

Advertisements

In the business world have you ever come across someone wildly charismatic and popular..despite being of average skill and not actually doing anything? How is it like to work for someone like this? I don't think I can, I'm too angry and would want to expose him for what he is...a fraud.

This is about a guy that reminds me a lot of the Wizard from the Wizard of Oz.

I got a bachelors degree in Biology and have been working as a lab tech for $12/hour for the past year. I got a 4.0 GPA in my major coursework. I've hauled ass my whole life and worked through high school and college but I feel that all my work hasn't amounted to anything.

A guy that grew up in my neighborhood never studied and always got B+ grades from elementary school through college...hell...he's still in college! He's a 5th year undergrad and got accepted to a top M.S. program despite majoring in...Sociology. He always knew how to rile up a crowd and give flamboyant speeches without actually doing anything. He was voted Prom King in High school but he never actually did anything, he just gives these Hollywood caliber, over the top speeches and tells people what they should do to realize their talents after negotiating with people. He even stopped two gangs from fighting each other just by talking and doing speeches.