U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-30-2013, 10:25 AM

4 posts, read 3,492 times

Advertisements

I'm a Green Card holder and I live in my native country. I'm an experienced software engineer and I have employment in my native country. I would like to relocate to the United States. I have sent a lot of applications to possibility employers in the US, but I haven't got any invitation to the job interview.

Is there now so bad economic situation, that they are not interesting foreign candidates? Would I have better chance, if I moved to the US at first, and then I would try to get a job? Then I would be unemployed in there and maybe this cuts down my chances to have employment.
Quick reply to this message

Old 04-30-2013, 10:29 AM

9,689 posts, read 12,138,710 times
Many companies are hiring software engineers, if your skills are current. I would say that your chances are better, if you were a "local" candidate.

Old 04-30-2013, 02:58 PM

16,417 posts, read 26,334,180 times
Here's an idea: Get a job with a local company in the country you are currently living in that also has branch offices in the USA and then try for an LI transfer visa opportunity.

Old 04-30-2013, 03:08 PM

8,818 posts, read 13,903,221 times
I don't see anyone hiring an out-of-country applicant, it's just too much of a hassle, especially when there are plenty of qualified people in-country.

Old 04-30-2013, 05:55 PM

340 posts, read 716,820 times
If you "forget" your green card you will probably be hired on the spot

Old 05-01-2013, 02:42 AM

Quote: