Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-29-2020, 10:29 PM

17 posts, read 11,668 times

Advertisements

I think I have all the reasons I need to leave my current job, but just want to get some opinions.

Hi all.

I've been working my current position for almost two years (two years in January). During that time, my feedback has been positive, and how I bust my butt. Over the last two years, I have taken on more work and tried my best tto do the best job I can.

During my two years, a promotion has come up three times. The first two times, I was written off. The third time, my boss came to me and told me to interview for it. I was excited, and I interviewed.

After about a month of hearing nothing, my boss set up a metting and told me I didn't get it. Okay, well it was really dissapointing, especially since I bust my butt and am doing more work than the other two people in my role (there are two other people in my same position, and I was assigned more of a workload than the both of them).

I find out today that the person who got the promotion was one of the two other people in my same position. He actually started a year later than me, and I trained him when he was onboarding. I had more expereince than him, not just in our current roles but overall.

Am I wrong to be upset about this? It kind of makes me want to accept I have no upward movement there.

What would you think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-30-2020, 01:45 AM

801 posts, read 547,221 times