U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-21-2013, 07:56 PM

1,912 posts, read 2,548,516 times

Advertisements

I work in an open office. While I am new to the workforce, I realize that the open office is a fairly new concept.

In theory, it seems like a good idea. The notion of people working in close cooperation and no suffocating cubicles. But in practice and aside from small companies it's a disaster. Here's why:

- Constantly feeling watched. Sometimes I need to stop and take a breather or just think for a second, but I can't because I know someone's watching.

- Low level noise becomes a major distraction from loud typers, gum poppers, excessive talkers. Not even headphones can drown it out

- If you're on the phone, everyone can hear your conversation.

- A greater tendency for cliques to form.

- Being too close to the person next to you is a violation of personal space.

- Constant interruptions from corpwkers or bosses from across the room.

In short, open offices are horrible places for introverts and people with sound sensitivity issues. The office I work in isn't a hotbed of cooperation and harmony, it's a hotbed of stress and people who secretly can't stand one another (you can literally see them fuming).

Does anyone else work in this type of environment? How do you cope?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-21-2013, 08:05 PM

11,152 posts, read 8,559,848 times
AMEN !!!

I work in an open work space and I HATE IT!! We aren't allowed to wear headphones.