Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-08-2014, 11:07 AM

1,098 posts, read 890,942 times

Advertisements

I have a degree but no actual experience. If I held a huge list of accomplishments I'd put them on my resume...but I don't. Am I out of luck? Even internships are competitive. For some reason people think they are given out like candy. They're not. Especially in my field (GIS/Remote Sensing/Geography). I'm almost a year out of college and underemployed as a part time package handler.

I would like to start out in a GPS/Surveying role. Here's the kind of path I would prefer...
GIS Jobs Clearinghouse: Position Detail

With that being said, I know forestry jobs are extremely difficult to come by. I'd be happy with almost anything.

I started attending a local GIS user group but they only meet roughly once every 2 or 3 months and it hasn't been helpful yet. I've been told to move west. Colorado and Texas in particular seem to have good GIS jobs but I have no money to move right now. It's been seemingly impossible to land out of state interviews. I've only had 5 since graduation and they've all been in Ohio.

Here's a copy of my resume trailed towards Cartography. I have another version for Remote sensing. I know the coursework section is a little awkward but I really don't know what else to say;
https://workspaces.acrobat.com/?d=Kp...gG-2AeGjVaNpMQ

I realize my heading is slightly off center but that's only because I changed the name.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-08-2014, 12:28 PM