Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-25-2014, 11:14 AM

4,039 posts, read 3,774,203 times

Advertisements

I've been at my current job for the past 7 years. At first, it was just a temporary thing for school, but after I graduated, the economy was so bad, I couldn't find another job. Then I started taking classes in my area of passion (acting). I wanted to make a career of it, but after meeting many people who have done it for a good long time and even went to Julliard, they're still bartending. So now I feel stuck because my current job is a drone-ish type of job where I don't really possess much skills to transfer over to another line of work. Sure, there are customer service skills, I am proficient in MS word, excel, etc., I work well with others and alone.. I've told that to many job applications, and I couldn't even get an interview. Most of these are through Craigslist, which I find isn't really the best place to look for work.

I see the only way out of my current situation is to go back to school and gain skills that way, this time in something more specific. The problem is, I don't know what that would be. I don't appreciate techy jobs, I don't want to work in the medical field... well, you know what? I think the problem is the way I think and view jobs. It's like I want something perfect without having to work for it. Well, I am willing to work for it, but most of the time, I don't know if it's worth working for, or if I will want to be in that field for that long.