Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-27-2015, 09:29 AM

305 posts, read 724,057 times

Advertisements

I graduated 2 years ago with a technical degree in graphic and web design.

Basically 6 months after I sent required paperwork I get a call from my counselor stating that her supervisor had some concerns about my career decision and refused to open my case and give me accommodations (bus pass, job placement, college tuition) until I finish a career evaluation. I finished the career evaluation and here are my results.

**Web Design**

* 8.9% job growth
* Average wage is $27 per hour

**Graphic design**

* 7% job growth
* Average wage: $22.47 per hour

**Billing and posting clerk**

* 16.1% job growth
* $17.32 per hour average

**Veterinary assistant and technician **

* 1% job growth
* $10 per hour average

**Dog and pet groomer**

* 27.7% job growth
* $10.86 per hour average

My interest was initially graphic and web design, but the job growth is so abysmal and too competitive that I couldn't find work. I felt I was better off with something else that has a better outlook.

To get to the point, I'm tired of wasting years of my life trying to find a career only to find that I'd stand no chance of work going that path. People have told me to find my passion, but my passion only ended up with a terrible job outlook and crap growth rate.