Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-11-2016, 10:18 AM

4 posts, read 3,124 times

Advertisements

So I graduated with a bachelor's in economics in December of 2014 and I was in the job market for a few months, couldn't find anything good so I've been working pretty random jobs intermittently and travelling since then. I am fine with this for the time being, but I am just wondering if employers find it weird or undesirable if they get an applicant who graduated let's say 3-4 years ago and doesn't really have any relevant experience? If it matters, I would primarily be talking about research and financial jobs. I apologize if this has been answered already, I searched and didn't find anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-11-2016, 10:27 AM

32,647 posts, read 48,028,221 times
That's interesting. What sort of job did you expect to get with a degree in economics? Maybe something in the banking industry?

I've taken several economics courses and found them to be valuable, but not for obtaining a salaried job. I started my own business, where I use information form my economics courses.

I think for something like economics, your degree gets stale if you don't use it. You become out of date.

Old 12-11-2016, 10:28 AM

674 posts, read 608,449 times
If you were an employer, would you give serious consideration to "an applicant who graduated 3-4 years ago and doesn't really have any relevant experience"? There's your answer.

Old 12-11-2016, 10:29 AM