U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-29-2008, 02:48 PM

6,012 posts, read 8,918,412 times

Advertisements

I have been working in my field for 10 yrs now, achieved Sr. status and make pretty good income. However, I feel I reached a stage where it's becoming a routine. I don't feel excited about coming to work. At 33, I have spent most of my 20s studying and developing my career, gave up relationships, vacations etc. for this. Now I am wondering if I did the right thing because I feel like quitting my job for 6 months and touring the world. Am I crazy?

Although I have savings and want to I can't get myself to the reality, I fret about things like gaps on my resume and losing loads of income etc. At other times I feel I have only one life and need to do something adventurous and spontaneous otherwise I am wasting my younger years. I'm single and have no dependents and also have no debt or obligations so in a good position.

Anyone else feel like this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-29-2008, 03:09 PM

5,038 posts, read 14,743,270 times
I feel like my job is routine and boring. I've been in my field for about 15 years. I don't make really good money, but I also have a job that doesn't require I supervise anyone....which is just the way I like it.